Animation Project

I chose to study Otto Mesmers’ Felix the Cat. I liked the over the top style and cute characters. While watching “Switches Witches” I fell in love with the pumpkin and wanted to somehow include it.For the laugh of the pumpkin’s laugh at the end (frames 33 through 37) was inspired by Felix’s iconic laugh though I worry it didn’t read the same without the sound. The fear Grover portrays was based on the fear Felix had during “Felix and the Ghost” though I had to add to add shivers because the sound of fear couldn’t be added.

The end didn’t got the way I wanted because I didn’t feel I had the time to add a ghost to it. The second try will have a ghost based on the ones found in “Felix and the Ghost.” I tried to show Grover’s fear as best I would without color for this one, so I added emotion lines or shivers that isn’t often used in the shorts I watched. I tried my best to emulate the pumpkin from “Halloween,” and by extension “Switches Witches,” in terms of emotions and personality, sort of playful and bright. Frames 23 through 34 did not got half as well as I was hoping for and feel extremely clunky. Grover got up way to fast and it didn’t feel natural like I wanted. However, I was very proud of the fall that happened between frames 7 and 22. I think the walking and falling animation looked really smooth. I worry that the fear and laughter didn’t read correctly and I know for a fact that the words on frames 27 and 28 didn’t read at all with the speed. I plan to color Grover in for the second on so he can lose the color in his face and make the fear before he faints more obvious.

I was not fond of the sketchy look of the first attempt either and hope to have the second one look a lot more polished. The begin few frames seemed really unsure. Over time the shape of Grover changes to be less detailed and more cartoonish, which isn’t bad, he just looks more like his inspiration, Felix, over time. Overall, I liked the result but I will most certainly try to improve and polish the second attempt. 

Episodes I watched:
“Furturitsy”
“Halloween”
“Woos Whoopee”
“Switches Witches”
“Japanicky”
“Felix and the Ghost”


I believe I improved greatly the video with the addition of color to Grover’s fur. The fear read a lot better and I think the over all animation looks a lot smoother. I took time in some places, like where the fainting happens, frames 34 to 41, but removed a few from the falling and walking, frames 1 to 11, to save time. The end was also improved with the addition of the ghost I wanted in the first attempt. Over all, I’m proud of how this attempt came out.

I believe I improved greatly the video with the addition of color to Grover’s fur. The fear read a lot better and I think the over all animation looks a lot smoother. I took time in some places, like where the fainting happens, frames 34 to 41, but removed a few from the falling and walking, frames 1 to 11, to save time. The end was also improved with the addition of the ghost I wanted in the first attempt. Over all, I’m proud of how this attempt came out.

Link 1 / Link 2

This entry was posted in Time Based and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

