Statement of Purpose

I’m pursuing a creative career because I have always been creative and I love allowing people to see part of my world. I want create worlds to explore and for others to experience. Someday I hope to be able to design the environments for games and movies. I want to design the details people will overlook and miss but that makes the story believable. Ever since I was young I admired the background, whether it was the world or characters. I loved to think of the stories the world contains. I’m motivated to create a unique world that people can get lost in, just like I did as a child. A place where they can explore and invent but also one that has a history if you look hard enough. The fun of a game or story for me is discovering the hidden.

I’m greatly inspired by the shadow a person makes in bright light, the towering darkness so familiar, yet so unknown. Big named developers create games that are visual stunning but I’m inspired by the indie developers that create games, not for money, but for love of their work. Though they aren’t as popular or common as large companies, they are filled with genuine love for their craft. I want to be like that. I want to bring love to my work and to others viewing it.

Working in a physical three dimensional space has helped me to visualize the inhabitants of the worlds I create in a way I can achieve. I’m not exceptionally good at making organic shapes on the computer, not like I am with geometric ones, but hand crafting organic beings is helping me to understand their composition.

This entry was posted in Non-Time Based and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

